becker

A year has passed and now I stand on the brink of a returning to a world I’ve left a couple of months ago.

Soon, I will reluctantly give my hugs and, fighting the tears, say goodbye to people who were once just names on a sheet of paper to return to the people I hugged and fought tears to say goodbye to, before I ever left. I will leave my best friends to return to my best friends.

… I will go back to the places I came from and go back to the same things I did last summer and every summer before.

I will come into a city to the same familiar road, and although it has been months, it will seem like only yesterday.

As I walk into my old bedroom, every emotion will pass through me as I reflect on the way my life has changed and the person I have become.

I suddenly realize that things that were the most important to me a year ago, don’t seem to matter so much anymore, and the things I hold highest now, no one at home will completely understand.

Who will I call first?
What will I do my first weekend at home with my friends?
What has everyone been up to in the past few months?
How long will be before I actually start missing people from my other life?

Then I start to realize how much things have changed, and I realize the hardest part of this is to balance the two completely different worlds I now live in, trying desperately to hold on to everything while trying to figure out what I have left behind.

I now know the meaning of true friendship.
I know who I have kept in touch with over the past year and who I hold dearest to my heart.

I’ve left my world to deal with the real world.

There have been times when I’ve felt so helpless being hours away from “home” when I know my family or friends needed me the most.

Soon, I will leave and I will take down my pictures and pack up my clothes.

Soon, I will say good bye to one of the most beautiful cities and to the places that were once just words on a map.
No more going to the other side of the city to do nothing for hours on end.

Soon, I will unpack my bags and have dinner with my family. And somehow, in some way find my place between these two worlds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to becker

  1. You’re good! And I wish you all the luck finding that space in you for two worlds, don’t live between them, that’s half a life, embrace them both if possible..!

  2. Mara Becker says:

    dearest daniella. i feel so honored. i will love you forever my swenglish cutie pie

Leave a comment